For every Orgzit Workspace, there is a Manage Workspace Screen which is accessible only to Workspace Administrators. The following things can be edited and managed from this screen:
The Workspace Name is the name of your workspace that is visible to all users who have access to that workspace.
Workspace Access Types
Each Workspace can either be a Private Workspace or Team Workspace.
In a Private Workspace, the Workspace Administrators or Managers have to specifically invite other users / collaborators. Without being specifically invited, users would not be able to view or access any Private Workspace.
In a Team Workspace, all Team Users (i.e. Account Users) are not required to be specifically invited to collaborate in that workspace. Account Users can browse and chose to join a Team Workspace on their own.
Team Workspaces are useful for sharing company wide information such as Company Directories, Holiday Lists etc.
You can add a description for each workspace to inform users of how to use the workspace and what the workspace is meant for.Tables
This is where all the tables of the workspace are listed. Also from here you can click on the "Create New Table" tile to start creating new customized tables for your workspace.
This is where you can add/remove or change access permissions for all the users of the workspace. Only Workspace Admins and Managers have the access and permissions to manager users for any workspace.
There are 4 types of Workspace Users:
Administrators: These are the Workspace owners who have full access and rights to the Workspace, including the ability to modify the workspace or any tables in that workspace, add/remove collaborators and manage user permissions.
Managers: these users are like Administrators who have access to add/remove and manage users but do not have the permissions to make configuration changes to any tables or the workspace itself.
Edit Users: these users have the permissions to add, delete and modify data. However, they can't modify the field types or the configuration of the Tables or the Workspaces.
View only users: these users are only read only users which allows the collaborators to view records but not edit them.
User Groups and Permissions
User Groups are user defined collaboration teams (or part of the teams) that can be given a set of permissions based on their role in the organization. One can create any number of User Groups for a workspace and then define the access permissions for each User Group.
Note: Orgzit user management is one of the most comprehensive and powerful feature that enables Orgzit to provide highly configured collaboration solutions with granular access controls. To learn more about Orgzit User Management read the support article on Granular Access Controls.
For every user group, you can decide to provide permissions at a Table level for the following:
- View - to provide the user the permission to see/view in the Table
- Add - to provide the user the permission to Add a New Record in the Table
- Edit - to provide the user the permission to Edit / Change an existing record in the Table
- Delete - to control which users can Delete records from the Table
- Download - to control which users can Download the data from your Table.
- Comments - to control who can see and comment on records
- Tasks - to control who can see and add tasks under each record
- Files - to control who can see, add, remove files under each record
- Email - to control who can view and send emails that are linked to a particular record (read more on Record Emails)
- SMS - to control who can view and send SMS that are linked to a particular record (read more on Record SMS)
This video can show you what is a workspace and what are its components are.